How to Order a Birth Certificate
WARNING: It is a criminal violation to make false statements on vital records application forms or to fraudulently obtain a birth certificate. Punishment may include a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 and up to five years in prison. Utah Code, Sections 26-23-5, 26-23-5.5 and 26-23-6.
Certificates for births that occurred in Utah since 1905 are on file in this office. If the birth did not occur in Utah, please visit NCHS – Where to Write for Vital Records.
Birth Certificate fees:
Birth Certificate – $20.00
Search fee – $12.00
Each additional copy of the same record – $10.00
To obtain a birth certificate, you must apply IN PERSON at the Summit County Health Department office at:
85 North 50 East
110 North Main
Park City Office
650 Round Valley Drive
NOTE Identification is now required for the purchase of a Utah birth certificate. You MUST bring a valid identification with you to apply for the certificate.
How to Order a Death Certificate
New Utah Law
Utah law now allows families to care for their dead without the services of a licensed funeral director.
Families that do not retain a funeral director must file a death certificate and comply with state laws and
rules regarding the disposition of human remains.
A death certificate must be filed within five days of death and before final disposition of the deceased’s
remains (Utah Code 26-2-13 (1)(a). A burial transit permit is required before removing the remains
from the place of death (hospital, nursing home, home, etc.) R436-8-1(c). If you are planning
cremation or removal of the remains from the State of Utah, a Cremation/Burial-Transit permit and a
review by the Office of the Medical Examiner is required. Click here for complete information and forms.
Certificates for deaths that occurred in Utah since 2000 are on file in this office. Death Certificates proir to 2000 can be made available through a search, a small fee is charged. If the death did not occur in Utah, please visit NCHS – Where to Write for Vital Records.
Death Certificate fees:
Death Certificate – $18.00
Search fee – $12.00
Each additional copy of the same record – $8.00
To obtain a death certificate, you must apply IN PERSON at the Summit County Health Department office at:
85 North 50 East
Coalville, Utah 84017
NOTE Identification is now required for the purchase of a Utah death certificate. You MUST bring a valid identification with you to apply for the certificate.
List of Valid Identifications
Primary – at least 1 of the following:
- Photo Driver’s License
- Photo Identification Card
- School, University or College ID Card
- Employment Card
- U.S. Military Identification Card
- Tribal Identification Card
- Alien Registration Card/Permanent Resident Card
- Temporary Resident Card
- U.S. Passport
- Foreign Passport
- U.S. Certification of Naturalization
- Certification of U.S. Citizenship
- U.S. Citizenship Identification Card
- Matricula Consular Card
- Weapon or Gun Permit Card
Secondary – or at least 2 of the following:
- Work Identification/Paycheck/W-2
- Voter Registration Card
- Social Security Card
- U.S. Military Separation/DD-214
- Motor Vehicle Registration/Title
- Probation Documents
- Marriage License
- Divorce Decree
- Social Services Card
- Hospital Birth Worksheet
- Acknowledgement of Paternity Document
- Property Tax Receipt
- Veterans Universal Access ID Card
- Pilot License
- Selective Service Card
- Hunting/Fishing License
- Court Order of Adoption or Name Change
We cannot accept:
- Novelty ID Card
If you cannot provide acceptable identification, ask a spouse, parent, grandparent, sibling or adult child, who can provide appropriate identification, to request the certificate. Proof of relationship may also be required, such as birth, death or marriage certificate.